Home » The Perfect Age by Heather Skyler
The Perfect Age Heather Skyler

The Perfect Age

Heather Skyler

Published
ISBN : 9780141017204
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

A sun-baked, beautifully observed debut for readers who loved Amy and Isabellea mother and daughter come of age in Las Vegas. Helen is just fifteen, lanky and striking. She is a lifeguard at the pool at The Dunes hotel this summerher first job, aMoreA sun-baked, beautifully observed debut for readers who loved Amy and Isabelle—a mother and daughter come of age in Las Vegas. Helen is just fifteen, lanky and striking. She is a lifeguard at the pool at The Dunes hotel this summer—her first job, a step toward independence in a world beginning to treat her as an adult and a woman. Her mother, Kathy, watching Helen grow up, suddenly finds herself in a place equally uncertain: her children getting older, her stable marriage perhaps too stable, the slow days of summer leaving her adrift. When she meets Helens boss, the manager at the pool, she chooses an affair that opens her to the idea of a different sort of life.Following Helen and Kathy through three summers, this novel is an intimate picture of two sexual awakenings under one roof and their aftershocks on a family. Heather Skyler shows us that the validity of lifes deepest experiences—love, betrayal, acceptance—is never compromised by age. Reading group guide included.